Sunday, November 10, 2013

University of Nebraska-Lincoln and University of Georgia Faculty Receives National Teacher Awards Six Regional and Two New Teacher Awards also Announced

November 10, 2013—In celebration of scholarship, exemplary pedagogy and personal dedication, Tiffany Heng-Moss of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Michael Eugene Wetzstein of the University of Georgia and six regional and two new teachers were named the 2013 recipients of the National Teaching Awards For Food and Agriculture Sciences. The awards were presented today at the126th APLU Annual Meeting now underway in Washington, DC and honors university faculty for the use of innovative teaching methods and service to students.

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) and APLU, the annual awards include stipends of $5,000 for the national winners and $2,000 for regional and new teacher honorees to be used for improving teaching at their respective universities.

The six regional awards were given to John C. “Jack” Clausen of the University of Connecticut; Janice Jean Haggart of North Dakota State University; Soo-Yeun Lee of University of Illinois, Urbana–Champaign; Jeffrey W. Savell of Texas A&M University; William J. Silvia of the University of Kentucky; and Brian Kent Warnick of Utah State University. Leslie Dawn Edgar of the University of Arkansas and David W.W. Jones of North Carolina State University each received best new teacher honors in agriculture science.

Read Story Here...